Home > ministry, personal > just ask

just ask

It’s been a tough few weeks…lots of questioning, seeking, asking. Much of it has been focused around vision; what is God’s vision for me, for my family, for this youth ministry, for this church, for this town, etc. I’ve learned that when dealing with interpersonal issue, it can be really easy to shift my focus from God & God’s goodness to me & my problems. I heard Perry Noble say that “leadership is as easy as listening to God.” True. But listening to God isn’t going to be that easy if I’m not intimate with God and focusing on me.

So what keeps coming up in my thoughts about this? How does a God sized vision come? Not vision that’s me sized, because I can do those – God doesn’t need to show up for that. I’ve read and felt so much about this recently. What happens when I don’t bring God a vision bigger than me? Does God laugh at me? Is he disappointed? Whatever it is, I’ve not been giving God my all in asking. What’s more, Jesus tells us consistently through the gospels to ask. Just ask. It’s right there in Matthew 7:7.

So what are you asking God for? Is it something that you can do yourself with a little work, or is it something ridiculous and impossible without God? Does it make you feel sick because you know it can’t happen under your own strength? Do you think about it before you even get out of bed in the morning? Does it make you uncomfortable? A vision from God is so much bigger than us, so let’s step up and be where God wants us to be.

other guys speaking into my life on this:
Steven Furtick
Gary Lamb
Perry Noble
Lee McDerment

Categories: ministry, personal
  1. Spencer
    April 26, 2007 at 8:01 am

    how can i speak into your life?

  2. May 1, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    just give me something deep and witty. i know you have it in you.

  3. May 6, 2007 at 1:51 am

    I am often guilty of trying to do things in my own strength. You’d think by now I’d know better! LOL! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

