Home > personal > it’s simple

it’s simple

I was reflecting on this scripture passage this morning, one that I’ve heard probably 3 million times. Seriously. 3 million. Anyway, I’ve always heard it as:

Take it one step at a time. Focus on what’s in front of you. Seek God first. Don’t worry about the rest.

But today one word rang in between my ears through this whole passage. Simplicity. We’re pointed to the birds & flowers, and to see how they don’t worry. Why don’t they worry? I see a simple simplicity in their lives. Then I turn to us, and simplicity is not a word I word often use to describe my life. This is totally tied then to worry. It’s pretty systematic in my life – the more complex things are, the more I tend to worry. What’s more, the complex worries tend to be more and more trivial matters! Suck.

I stand firm in that this is why so many are deeply effected on the short term mission trip. Once out of your comfort zone, away from the pizazz of life (I can’t believe I just said that), you’re forced to live within a simplicity foreign to your everyday life.

So how do I live simply? Does that mean I have to trash my laptop, cell phone, to-do list, and xbox? Not necessarily. Of course, it might help some people to do that to reach a deeper level of focus. To live simply we need to focus on the necessities of life. I need to focus on God. I need to focus on my wife. On providing for her. On reaching out to others. In honoring God with my money & time. In serving those around me. You may have to take some time and finally, for the first time in how long (years?), to prioritize what’s going on around you. Seek first God’s kingdom, and move toward living a more simple life.

Categories: personal
  1. michaelbreza
    June 5, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    Hey bro,

    I tried leave’n a message twice now before I realized I had to sign in. I was say’n before that you hit the nail on the head with this post. I appreciate your recognition of the importance of simplicity within a complex life. I love you bro.

    – Breez

  2. June 7, 2007 at 9:01 am

    I struggle with it especially while balancing my work and personal lives. The two are blended more than the average person’s, I think, so I (admittedly) sometimes overworked and taken time away from friends and family (or soon to be family 😉 ).

    I’ve been talking to my dad about someday going out on my own as a webdesigner. Boy, would my work and personal lives be blurred together then. It would be hard to turn down work at times and choose (it is a choice) to spend time with Emily, friends, or just play video games or something. But, this would be the best example of not worrying about work to come or putting food on the table and focusing simply on what God says is important (i.e. quality time with others and time with Him).

    Peace is good.

  3. beth
    June 7, 2007 at 10:23 am

    You totally held me accountable with all of this, especially since after I read your blog I had my quiet time and it was about the same thing! Hmmmmm, I guess the Lord’s trying to get my attention. I have a tendency to get so busy ‘working for God’ that I don’t focus on Him. Oy

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

