Home > ministry, personal > what a weekend

what a weekend

It was crazy. It’s hard to believe that this process of transition and moving only really began two weeks ago. Although it has been months of praying and seeking, it became tangible just a short time ago. We’ve talked to multiple banks, looked at 10 different homes (just on Saturday!), and re-inspected a home yesterday, all while packing the Jeep full of boxes every time to drop off in my parent’s garage for a time of storage. The cook thing is, even though our heads are spinning, I can feel God’s presence in all of this, without a doubt.

We’re in an interesting situation – we don’t know exactly how things are going to happen with finding a house. In the meantime, we’re going to live in my parent’s place, which is a huge blessing. But I think of this, primarily: God can spend a time, however how long, preparing us for something. For me and Bethany in began late last year, really, when this started to frame up for the first time. But when the time comes that God says “move”, will we move or will we wait for everything to fall into place so we’re comfortable first? It’s the difference between our own need for comfort and our desire to be obedient to the God who calls us.

This whole process has me continually thinking about the story of Jonah often. I don’t want to be like Jonah and flee God because of my personal preferences or discomfort or whatever. There are consequences to that. I want to be able to have the obedience to trust that the God who has brought me this far can indeed be trusted with all that I am and do and will continue to do.

Categories: ministry, personal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

