Home > uncategorized > ready for the day

ready for the day

September 27, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

On Wednesday mornings, I usually wake up at 5:30am to have breakfast with ‘the guys’. It’s one of my favorite parts of the week, worth getting up a few hours earlier than normal for. As soon as I get up in the morning my mind starts going on what all I have to do today, and what I have to do to prepare for it. I had a particularly hard time getting to sleep Tuesday night because my mind kept going through the order of things to do the next day.

I had breakfast with the guys, met with some students, and then headed to a local middle school. I found out from my friend the principal that this was the morning to do bus evacuation drills, and asked if I wanted to help. Sweet. Helping kids jump out of a faux fiery bus near death experience. Count me in.

But here’s the thing. Of all the things I thought I would be doing on Wednesday morning, helping kids jump out of a fake doom was not one of them – in fact, it was at the bottom of the list. I think a lot of Christians that when faced with something not on their agenda for the day, we can come up with a lot of excuses – I’ve never ridden a bus before, I have poor upper arm strength, I don’t like kids, someone else is paid to do that, blah blah. On the whole, we think about acting a lot more than we actually act. If you’re spending time in the Word and with Jesus, you’re prepared for a lot more than you think. Next time you get a chance to act & serve, step up and do it. Word.

Categories: uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

