Home > ministry, personal > we’re on the same team

we’re on the same team

I’ve spent the better part of the morning reading the current “Young Life evangelism ruckus”. I’ve been a part of Young Life formally for the better part of 5 years as both an attending student and a volunteer leader in college.Being a part of YL really helped me grow spiritually, so when I saw this blog post by Marko, it was news to me and thought I’d check it out.

After pouring through the original paper and everyone’s responsive articles & posts, and the subsequent responses to those responses, this is where I’m at…knock it off! Sheesh. What it’s becoming is another giant example of people (and a lot of youth workers) getting all up tight about a method. The list of “non-negotiables” is a method for how their organization communicates the Gospel. Is the Gospel communicated? Yes. Can kids find life in Christ other than YL’s spoken model? Sure. Does that nullify that kid’s decision? Certainly not; and I doubt you’d find a YL staffer that would argue with that. This is simply how YL functions as a large organization.

All that aside, I’m getting tired of so many people arguing about methodology. Not discussing – arguing, whining, complaining – instead of doing and building up. I was a part of a message board for youth workers once (actually, I’m still registered), but I hardly ever go anymore, because everyone comes off as whiny & upset, under the guise of helping one another. I can’t stand it.

I miss my crew of youth pastors in State College. Every Thursday morning Stacy, Matt, Kim, Zac, Tony, Keith, myself and others over time would get together over coffee, grow relationships with each other, pray for the city and its kids, we’d do some events together, etc. It was one of the best things I’ve ever been a part of in ministry, and I long for something like that in my new town. We came from different churches/denominations/experiences/distinctives, but seeing kids far from God find new life in Christ was the center of it all. Everything and anything else was secondary to that.

I don’t rant often, and maybe this is just that. I just feel like when something like this blows up we’re all too quick to huddle under the pomegranate tree and pontificate instead of being called to action. Too often we’re called to action and just sit around and talk.

Categories: ministry, personal
  1. January 9, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    I didn’t realize you all got together like that – thought it was just you and Stacy. That’s freakin sweet, and it’s cool to combine prayer forces and blanket a town like that in prayer.

    I also think it’s something only youth pastors seem to be able to do…

  2. Chris
    January 9, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    Thank you for bringing some sense & calm to the Christian blogosphere.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

