Home > ministry, personal > Ash Wednesday

Ash Wednesday

I grew up in a variety of different churches in a variety of denominations, but they were always pretty traditional. Hymns, responsive readings, creeds, 15 minute sermons, potluck dinners. There are plenty of folks I know that grew up around a lot of “traditions” and as a result have a real disdain for traditions. While religion has much to be desired i my camp, there are some old traditions that I really like and connect with. Ash Wednesday is one of them.Tonight during FUSE[midweek] I talked to a number of the kids about what Ash Wednesday is and why we do it. I’ve always really resonated with this beginning of the anticipation of Easter. Plus, the ash cross on the forehead was always pretty sweet. That said, I’m not sure if I’ll get my ashes tonight – I’m helping one of my students in the computer lab while the service is going on, but we’ll see. Of course, some quality time with a student is always a win, too.

photo-13.jpg

Categories: ministry, personal
  1. bethieboo
    February 15, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    colin!!!!!!!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

