Home > ministry, personal > friends and mentors

friends and mentors

Since my first attempt at heading down to State College last week got iced out, today is my next attempt. I’ve been wanting to get get back for a while to meet up with two really good friends and colleagues in ministry. Aaron prepared a bunch of us while in college in some huge ways to step into ministry – one of my favorites was our Friday morning breakfast. One of the things he told us was to be sure of our call to ministry, because on some days it might only be the call the makes us want to stay in. I’ve had a few of those days, and I’m so glad that he was honest with us about the difficulties that would come our way.

Stacy’s my youth ministry mentor. When I was living in State College as a youth worker I learned more from him than anyone else. I joked sometimes that I thought my church should be paying him for staff development. What I saw in Stac was a love for kids meeting Jesus rising above personal preferences, denominations, and the norms. I can’t wait to have lunch with him today.

Who are the friends and mentors that pour into you and are shaping your life?

Categories: ministry, personal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

