Home > ministry, personal > setting goals

setting goals

A few weeks ago Mark Batterson wrote about setting life goals. Honestly, this is something I’ve never done with any amount of seriousness or deep thought. There a few I’ve had for a while that would be cool for kicks:
– doing the weather on TV in front of a green screen wearing all green, so all anyone would see is my head and hands
– run on to a football field after a dude has a concussion and asking how many of me he sees while looking like this
– fill a pinata with cans of soda

A list of life goals seems like a fairly intimidating thing to do, and one I want to work on. I figure a good place to start, though, would be a list of Goals for 2008. The first draft:
– read at least 10 books
– read through the Bible (not included in the 10 above)
– get back down to at least 200 lbs
– build up an emergency fund
– rebuild the wall in my kitchen
– recruit at least 2 new regular committed leaders in each of my two ministry areas
– win a poker night

Categories: ministry, personal
  1. michaelbreza
    February 20, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    1.) is this emergency fund made out of emergency supplies (water, can goods, flashlights) or money?

    2.) We can hold each other accountable with the kitchen remodeling

    3.) You should probably attempt to win the poker night when I’m not visiting…It would give you a better shot at it.

  2. February 21, 2008 at 1:10 am

    my question to you is this…

    you need to change the link to my blog and show a brother some love!

  3. February 21, 2008 at 9:03 am

    @ MIke:
    1)now that you mention it, both. my original intent was a financial emergency fund, starting at what would cover everything for a month if we had no income. although a few supplies in the jeep wouldn’t hurt, either, for all those crazy trips we do…
    2)sweet
    3)i take that as a challenge

    @Spence:
    done

  4. michaelbreza
    February 27, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    I love ya bro.

  1. April 21, 2008 at 9:02 am

Leave a Reply

