Home > personal > setting goals

setting goals

Back in January I made a list of personal goals for 2008 – not resolutions (lame) but goals (awesome). When I got to check off my first completed goal from the list, I realized that that list never made it here. Personal, yes. But good to put out there and have before me. Check out my original post from January below, as well as my first check & other updates.


A few weeks ago Mark Batterson wrote about setting life goals. Honestly, this is something I’ve never done with any amount of seriousness or deep thought. There a few I’ve had for a while that would be cool for kicks:
– doing the weather on TV in front of a green screen wearing all green, so all anyone would see is my head and hands
– run on to a football field after a dude has a concussion and asking how many of me he sees while looking like this
– fill a pinata with cans of soda and/or bees

A list of life goals seems like a fairly intimidating thing to do, and one I want to work on. I figure a good place to start, though, would be a list of Goals for 2008. The first draft:
– read at least 10 books (2 down, closing in on 3)
– read through the Bible (not included in the 10 above) (I’ve slowed down on this one – just ended Leviticus – but it rocked!)
– get back down to at least 200 lbs
– build up an emergency fund
– rebuild the wall in my kitchen (and now the dining room ceiling, too…)
– recruit at least 2 new regular committed leaders in each of my two ministry areas
win a poker night (Friday, March 14 – thanks Spence, Jon, Mike, and Seth)

Categories: personal
  1. mrwcase
    March 22, 2008 at 7:39 am

    seth needs to start a blog….make it happen

  2. March 22, 2008 at 8:21 am

    i’m on it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

