Home > ministry > what are you putting off?

what are you putting off?

There are some things you don’t need to pray about. You don’t need to pray about whether you should love your neighbor. You don’t need to pray about whether you should give generously or serve sacrificially. You don’t need to pray about whether you should bless someone when it is within your power to do so. God has already spoken. What you need to do is quit praying and start acting.

~ Wild Goose Chase, by Mark Batterson

there are plenty of things that if i’m honest, i’m waiting for a solution that never shows up. truth is, it’s not the solution that doesn’t show up – because i already know what it is. instead i’m waiting for some sort of confirmatino after confirmation to get me to a place of my assurance that i cannot fail. and you know what: a lot of those things never happen because i’m not confortable feeling safe from failure.

but when the crap were we ever promised safety from failure?

Psalm 37:23-24
The steps of a man are established by the Lord, when he delights in his way; though he fall, he shall not be cast headlong, for the Lord upholds his hand.

even though God establishes our steps, we still fall. i read this a few weeks ago on one of my favorite blogs:

I’ve been encouraged many times by reminding myself that God orders my steps.  He helps me make wise decisions.  He guides me in my choices.
But doesn’t it encourage you even more to know that He even orders your falls?
He doesn’t just help me choose the right path.  He redeems me graciously even when I choose the wrong one.

He doesn’t only order my successes.  He orders my failures too.
And it all works together for my good, and His glory.

~Steven Furtick

Categories: ministry Tags: , ,
  1. October 21, 2008 at 11:42 am

    i needed to hear this today

  2. October 22, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    preach on, preacherman.

    i miss you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

